Javier Martínez de la Puente winner of the VIII edition of the International Competition of photography of the Encierro

On Thursday, July 21, 2018,  the jury met to choose winners for the eighth edition of the the International Photograph of the “Encierro” Competition.  The photos were taken by professionals accredited by the Town Hall of Pamplona, organized by the Association of Journalists of Navarra and the International Office of the Press of Navarra , with the collaboration of the Casa de Misericordia, La Carpintería Hermanos Aldaz Remiro and Bodegas Chivite.  Also colaboran Café Iruña, Baluarte, Corte Inglés and the Cofradía Musical San Saturnino.

Ten of the best photographs were chosen:  one from each of the stretches in which the “encierro” is divided. Each one of the authors of the winning photographs will receive a trophy from the hands of the sponsors of each “encierro” stretch.  The trophy is a real part of a post taken from the fences of the “encierro”. The first place winner will also receive a cobblestone from the “encierro” and 1,000 euros; la second prize will receive 500 euros. 

A total of 26 photographers, accredited by the the Town Hall of Pamplona have covered the race of runners and bulls in the “encierro,” presenting 68 entries  of 2017 showing different moments of the “encierros” . The number of entries has increased in competitors and photos from last year.

The jury was made up by:

  • José Luis Pujol (professional photographer)
  • Xabier Aldaz ( Carpintería Hermanos Aldaz REmiro, responsible for the fences of the “encierro” of Pamplona)
  • Pablo Lasaosa (professional graphic reporter)
  • Jorge Goicoechea ( Representing innkeepers)
  • Miguel Moreno Aríztegui ( Director of Journalists of Navarra)
Winning Photographers in the different Stretches  
  • Stretch: Santo Domingo;  Sponsor Centro Comercial Itaroa,  Author, José Ángel Ayerra;
  • Stretch: Plaza Consistorial, Sponsor Cara Vinagre / Ansoleaga 33, Author: Javier Martínez de la Puente.
  • Stretch: Mercaderes, Sponsor Consejo Regulador DO Navarra, Author, Antonio Jaén.
  • Stretch: Curva Mercaderes, Sponsor, Iruñazarra, Author, Alejandro Miguel Simón.
  • Stretch:  Estafeta primera, Sponsor, Katuzarra; Author: Miguel Fernández Malumbres.
  • Stretch: Estafeta segunda, Sponsor, Chez Belagua, Author, David Domench.
  • Stretch: Telefónica, Sponsor, Monasterio, Autor, Javier García Lerga.
  • Stretch: Bajada Callejón, Sponsor, La Botería, Author, Blas Pardo.
  • Stretch:Callejón Sponsor, Reyno Gourmet, Author, Alejandro Navarro.
  • Stretch: Plaza de Toros, Sponsor, Reyno de Navarra, Author, Carlos Calleja.

These prizes are also accompanied by a piece of the post of the fence of the the encierro anda Magnum bottle 150 anniversary off Bodegas Chivite.

  • Stretch of Mercaderes (for its force): Author: Villar López
  • Stretch of the Curve of Mercaderes (for its specialness): Author Rubén Albarrán
  • Stretch of Santo Domingo, (for its beauty): author Sergio Gago

These special photographers will also carry away with them a piece of a post of the fence of the encierro and a Magnum bottle 150 anniversary off Bodegas Chivite.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

seventeen − 1 =

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Uso de cookies | Cookies policy

Este sitio web utiliza cookies para que usted tenga la mejor experiencia de usuario. Si continúa navegando está dando su consentimiento para la aceptación de las mencionadas cookies y la aceptación de nuestra política de cookies, pinche el enlace para mayor información.plugin cookies

This web site uses cookies in order for you to have a better experience as a user. If you continue, you are in agreement with the utilization of said cookies and are also in agreement with our policy of cookies. cookies policy, Click on the link for more information.

Aviso de cookies